5 Things My Father Taught Me

A TRIBUTE TO MY FATHER

My father had impeccable taste for good tailoring.

My Father - Photo taken in HK cir. 1976

Be Thankful – Yes, say “Thank You” and “Please”.  He asked for help and he was grateful for the help. Thank you Daddy for everything a great father could possibly be.

Be Giving/Charitable – He was very charitable and giving. He loved to give and also receive. He helped many people and gave when he had lots of money and when he did not have a lot of money. Charity was in him.

Be Honest – Before he retired he had a small business and also paid all taxes due. Never tried to hide the income. That’s why he was left with so little profit after costs and taxes. He had a good time running the business though.

Get a good education –  My father believed in education and he made sure he drilled it into people he met. He made sure all his 7 children graduated from college and at least had 1 or more degrees. He picked me up from college late at night, 2 nights a week, for a year that I did not yet have a driver’s license. He was a proud father. He loved going to graduations (as much as going to parties) including his grand children’s whenever he could. He was a very proud grandfather.

Do not smoke – It’s all over the place why smoking is bad for human beings. I cannot understand why some people still smoke. Stop it. Don’t start smoking. It caused all kinds of respiratory illnesses and cancer. And a lot of pain. And it really killed!

NOTE:         Smoking kills!     DO NOT SMOKE!     REALLY NO SMOKING!

July 9th, 2010 – My father passed on at the hospital with respiratory failure after the battle with lung cancer for over 1 year. His lungs failed. He stopped smoking over 30 years ago, but still. May he rest peacefully in heaven.

7 responses to “5 Things My Father Taught Me

  1. I’m so very sorry for your loss. May your father rest in peace.

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss; may your father rest in peace.

  3. I am so sorry for your loss! This post was a beautiful tribute to your Dad. He was an amazing man and had a great philosophy about things. I miss my Dad too and I am so thankful for all that he taught me and others. Your father’s love and beautiful character lives on in you. I will pray for you and your family! I am so very sorry! I truly understand what you feel and my heart goes out to you!

    Mama Hen

  4. Thank you for your comments. I always feel sad when I see thos post because I really miss my Dad and I know you do too. Yet at the same time I know your Dad would be so proud to know you wrote this tribute to him. I hope you are well. Have a good night!

    Mama Hen

    • Thanks Mama Hen. I am sorry that you feel sad. Your Dad went suddenly and it must have been really hard for you to let go. Before my Dad passed on, I got to spend some time with him and having lunch with him in between his doctors appointments and chemo treatments. I have not completely let go but my daughter keeps me busy and that helps. I am reminded of my responsibilities as a parent and have better understanding of how my parents felt when we were young. My 7 year old daughter said she missed Grandpa too and I had to say repeatedly “Grandpa is in a good place up there now and I miss him too.” I could not come up with so many other lines. We have a chance to go on and be a good parent to our children just as our parents were to us. Let’s do our best. I love that you are/were a teacher and can have positive impact on so many children year after year. I hope I can do that too. Hugs to Little Chick.

  5. Forgive me for commenting so late but I am so sorry about your dad. He was obviously an amazing person who taught you so much. I hope that you are doing well under the circumstances – and again, I’m so sorry I didn’t comment earlier!

Leave a Reply

