Gratitude to co-workers – Thank you!

Cupcake Cake from Safeway Bakery

Thank you very much to my lovely friends and co-workers!

This post is a tribute to my friends/co-workers who hosted a fond farewell for me last week at Cascal in downtown Mountain View on Castro at California streets in the Silicon Valley. I received wonderful gifts, a hand decorated apron, fresh bouquet flowers and a cake made out of cupcakes. That was so very kind and nice of my buddies. It was my 3rd time to depart from this company and it appeared as if I was making a habit out of it. These folks that I worked with are not only talented in their professions but also kind, hardworking and thoughtful. I was worried that they were working way too hard sacrificing their personal and family time not to mention their health and well-being for the sake of the company. Corporations cut back on employees and these folks are doing more work with less people. While many corporations CEO’s and senior executives made more money than ever, even in this economy, front line workers are putting more hours (with no additional pay) to get the work done without much recognition and reward. It’s not fair but those who are making millions of dollars are not going to give up making more money. They exercise their powers to the max to reward themselves and that is a fact of capitalism right now. So to my friends and co-workers, I would like to say Thank You! and also Take Care of yourselves!

Cascal restaurant features South American cuisines, and Friday nights are usually packed with lots of people for cocktails. We had red Sangria, white Sangria and mojito. I normally cannot drink much but I prepared for it by eating a bigger lunch that day and I was OK afterwards.  We had a sampler plate of tapas, beets with pear salad, grilled ahi tuna and paella. Everything was delicious. It was so wonderful to be able to spend some time with good friends. Cheers to friendships and good health!

As for me, I have started working on home remodeling tasks and finding temporary housing during this time so we don’t have to breathe dusty air. It will keep me busy for a while until the remodeling is done and we can move back and unpack. I am staying out of trouble friends! I will not be able to cook much (which I don’t do too well anyways) during this time. I will be blogging about restaurants that we visit, and it will still be about food and friends and family. I am just focusing on short-term goals and looking forward to the trip to Disney World in Florida and the Caribbean cruise that will follow. We also want to vacation in Asia or Europe depending on availability of time and resources and my daughter’s summer school schedules. Long term goals can take a nap right now….zzzzzz

What is (are) your favorite restaurant(s) in your neighborhood?

6 responses to “Gratitude to co-workers – Thank you!

  1. That was so very thoughtful of your friends. Cheers to good friends! We just went on a carribean cruise from Florida this past new years and loved it. Hope you enjoy yours!

  2. Aw, yay to good friends who show appreciation to you so you can show appreciation to them…ah, what am I saying, anyway, nice to be appreciated! 🙂

  3. How great you get to travel to so many cool places! And how nice of your friends to give you such a nice farwell. What a delicious and beautiful cake!

    I hope your renovations go smoothly! Can’t wait to hear more about them.

    My favorite restaurants are Fresh Corn Grill and Gulfstream. I love the salmon at both of them!

  4. your friends and co-workers are so thoughtful. good luck with remodeling and i am very very very jealous of your upcoming trip to disneyworld.

  5. I would love to travel too. Europe is where I would like to go! Thank you for the sweet message on my blog. I am so sorry to hear about your father! There is nothing I can say other then I feel for you and pray you can find comfort in knowing he is in a better place. I know how hard it must be for you. I am sorry!

    Mama Hen

Leave a Reply

